How is state government organized?

Like the national government, state governments have three branches: the executive, legislative, and judicial. Each branch functions and works a lot like its national branch. The chief executive of the state is a governor, who is elected by popular vote, typically for a four-year term (New Hampshire and Vermont have two-year terms). Except for Nebraska, which has a single legislative body, all states have a bicameral (two-house) legislature, with the upper house usually called the Senate and the lower house called the House of Representatives, the House of Delegates, or the General Assembly. The sizes of these two legislatures vary. Typically, the upper house is made up of between 30 and 50 members; the lower house is made up of between 100 and 150 members.


This is a web preview of the "Handy Answer Book" app. Many features only work on your mobile device. If you like what you see, we hope you will consider buying. Get the App