What are the world's newest countries?

The world's newest country is South Sudan, which formally seceded from Sudan on July 9, 2011. It was admitted to the United Nations five days later. Before that, the newest country was Kosovo, which became a country in February 2008, after declaring its independence from Serbia. Since 1990, 29 new nations have come into being. Many of these emerged from the collapse of the Soviet Union (14 countries) and the breakup of the former Yugoslavia (7 countries).


This is a web preview of the "Handy Answer Book" app. Many features only work on your mobile device. If you like what you see, we hope you will consider buying. Get the App