What is a “landlocked” country?

A landlocked country is one that has no coastline, meaning it has no direct access to a sea or ocean. As of 2007, there are 43 landlocked countries. Africa includes a total of 15 landlocked countries; Asia has 12; Europe has 15; and South America has 2. The largest landlocked country is Kazakhstan, the ninth largest country in the world covering just over 1 million square miles (2.65 million square kilometers). Two countries in the world are double landlocked, which means that they are surrounded only by other landlocked countries: Lichtenstein and Uzbekistan.


This is a web preview of the "Handy Answer Book" app. Many features only work on your mobile device. If you like what you see, we hope you will consider buying. Get the App