Historically Black Colleges and Universities

By the end of the Civil War, what HBCUs were founded and supported by the missionary spirit of Northern white churches and their denominational boards?

HBCUs in this group were aided by the Freedmen’s Aid Society of the Methodist Church, which founded and/or supported Clark College in Atlanta, Georgia (1869); Claflin University in Orangeburg, South Carolina (1869); Shaw University (renamed Rust College) in Holly Springs, Mississippi (1866); Bennett College in Greensboro, North Carolina (1873); and Wiley College in Marshall, Texas (1873). Those founded and/or supported by the American Baptist Home Mission Society were Shaw University in Raleigh, North Carolina (1865); Benedict College in Columbia, South Carolina (1870); Morehouse College in Atlanta, Georgia (1867); Jackson College in Jackson, Mississippi (1877); and Virginia Union University in Richmond, Virginia (1865).


This is a web preview of the "The Handy African American History Answer Book" app. Many features only work on your mobile device. If you like what you see, we hope you will consider buying. Get the App