Historically Black Colleges and Universities

What are the 1890 schools?

Those Historically Black Colleges and Universities that received land-grant status under the second Morrill Act, or the Land Grant Act of 1890, are often referred to as the 1890 schools. They are Alabama A&M, Alcorn A&M, Delaware State, Florida A&M, Fort Valley State, Kentucky State, Langston, Lincoln (in Missouri), North Carolina A&T, Prairie View, South Carolina State, Southern, Tennessee State, University of Maryland Eastern Shore, Virginia State, and West Virginia State. Although Tuskegee University is not an official land-grant school, it is often included on the list.


This is a web preview of the "The Handy African American History Answer Book" app. Many features only work on your mobile device. If you like what you see, we hope you will consider buying. Get the App