When were the WNBA and the ABL established?

In 1997 two professional basketball leagues were established for women players—the Women’s National Basketball Association (WNBA) and the American Basketball League (ABL). Although the ABL folded after three seasons, the WNBA remained successful and, early on, showcased the talents of such black women players as Lisa Leslie, Sheryl Swoopes, Chamique Holdsclaw, and Cynthia Cooper.


This is a web preview of the "The Handy African American History Answer Book" app. Many features only work on your mobile device. If you like what you see, we hope you will consider buying. Get the App