Endocrine System

Adrenal Glands

How many different types of hormones are secreted by the adrenal cortex?

The adrenal cortex secretes more than two dozen different steroid hormones called the adrenocortical steroids, or simply corticosteroids. The adrenal cortex is divided into three major zones or regions each of which secretes a different type of corticosteroid. The outer region is the zona glomerulosa, which produces mineralocorticoids. The middle zone is the zona fasciculata, which accounts for the bulk of the cortical volume and produces glucocorticoids. The innermost, and smallest region, is the zona reticularis, which produces small quantities of the sex hormones.


This is a web preview of the "The Handy Anatomy Answer Book" app. Many features only work on your mobile device. If you like what you see, we hope you will consider buying. Get the App