Digestive System

Upper Gastrointestinal Tract

How many different types of teeth are in the mouth?

The three major types of teeth are incisors, cuspids (canines), and molars. All teeth have the same basic structure, consisting of a root, a crown, and a neck. The root is embedded in the socket in the jaw. The crown is the portion that projects up from the gum. The neck, surrounded by gum, forms the connection between the root and the crown.

The different types of teeth perform different functions. The incisors, located at the front of the mouth, are blade-shaped and suited for clipping or cutting. Incisors are important to bite off pieces of food. Located next to the incisors are the cuspids or canines. Their characteristic pointed tips make them suitable for tearing, shearing, and shredding food. Both premolars (also called bicuspids) and molars have flattened crowns with prominent ridges. They are essential for crushing and grinding food.


This is a web preview of the "The Handy Anatomy Answer Book" app. Many features only work on your mobile device. If you like what you see, we hope you will consider buying. Get the App