Digestive System

Lower Gastrointestinal Tract

How many distinct regions are in the large intestine?

The large intestine consists of three distinct regions: 1) the cecum, 2) the colon, and 3) the rectum. The cecum is the first section of the large intestine below the ileocecal valve. The appendix is attached to the cecum. Since the colon (ascending, transverse, descending, and sigmoid colon) is the largest region of the large intestine, the term “colon” is often applied to the entire large intestine. The rectum (rectum, anal canal, and anus) is the final region of the large intestine and the end of the digestive tract.


This is a web preview of the "The Handy Anatomy Answer Book" app. Many features only work on your mobile device. If you like what you see, we hope you will consider buying. Get the App