Background Facts

Levels of Organization

What are the four major types of tissue?

A tissue (from the Latin texere,, meaning “to weave”) is a group of similar cells that perform a specific function. The four major types of tissue are epithelial, connective, muscle, and nerve. Each type of tissue performs different functions.


This is a web preview of the "The Handy Anatomy Answer Book" app. Many features only work on your mobile device. If you like what you see, we hope you will consider buying. Get the App