Background Facts

Anatomical Terminology

What are the two basic regions of the body?

The body is divided into two basic regions: the axial and the appendicular. The axial part of the body consists of the head, neck, and trunk, including the thorax (chest), abdomen, and pelvis. The appendicular region consists of the upper and lower extremities.


This is a web preview of the "The Handy Anatomy Answer Book" app. Many features only work on your mobile device. If you like what you see, we hope you will consider buying. Get the App