Integumentary System

Skin Structure

What are the two regions of the dermis?

The dermis is composed of dense connective tissue and is the site of blood vessels, nerves, and epidermal appendages. The dermis has two regions: the papillary and reticular layers. The papillary layer has ridges, which produce fingerprints.


This is a web preview of the "The Handy Anatomy Answer Book" app. Many features only work on your mobile device. If you like what you see, we hope you will consider buying. Get the App