Skeletal System

Axial Skeleton

What are the two sets of bones of the skull?

The skull consists of two sets of bones: the cranial and the facial bones. The cranial cavity that encloses and protects the brain consists of the eight cranial bones. There are fourteen facial bones that form the framework of the face. The facial bones also provide support and protect the entrances to the digestive and respiratory systems.


This is a web preview of the "The Handy Anatomy Answer Book" app. Many features only work on your mobile device. If you like what you see, we hope you will consider buying. Get the App