Cardiovascular System

The Heart

What are the various chambers of the heart?

The heart is divided into two upper chambers called atria (singular, atrium) and two lower chambers called ventricles. The atria are receiving chambers, where blood is delivered via large vessels, and the ventricles are pumping chambers, where blood is pumped out of the heart via large arteries.


This is a web preview of the "The Handy Anatomy Answer Book" app. Many features only work on your mobile device. If you like what you see, we hope you will consider buying. Get the App