Sensory System


What structures comprise the middle ear?

The middle ear consists of the tympanic membrane (eardrum), tympanic cavity (an air-filled space in the temporal bone), and three small bones called auditory ossicles. The tympanic cavity is connected to the nasopharynx (the region linking the back of the nasal cavity and the back of the oral cavity) by the auditory (Eustachian) tube.


This is a web preview of the "The Handy Anatomy Answer Book" app. Many features only work on your mobile device. If you like what you see, we hope you will consider buying. Get the App