Reproductive System

Female Reproductive System

Which organs comprise the external female genitalia?

The external female genitalia, collectively known as the vulva or pudendum, consist of the mons pubia, labia majora, labia minora, vestibular glands, clitoris, and vestibule of the vagina. The mons pubis (from the Latin, meaning “mountain” and “pubic”) is a bulge of adipose tissue covered by pubic hair. The labia majora, two longitudinal folds of skin below the mons pubia, form the outer borders of the vulva. The labia minora lie between the labia majora. The labia majora and minora surround and protect the vaginal and urethral openings. The labia merge at the anterior point to form the clitoris. The clitoris becomes enlarged during sexual stimulation. The area between the labia minora is the vestibule. The vestibule contains glands and the openings of the vagina and urethra.


This is a web preview of the "The Handy Anatomy Answer Book" app. Many features only work on your mobile device. If you like what you see, we hope you will consider buying. Get the App