The Medieval World, C. 400–1300

North America

How is pre-Columbian art in North America organized?

In North America, pre-Columbian art is divided into three major periods:

  • Archaic Period: Ends in c. 1000 B.C.E.
  • Woodland Period: c. 300 B.C.E.–1000 C.E.
  • Mississippian Period: c. 900–1500 C.E.


This is a web preview of the "The Handy Art History Answer Book" app. Many features only work on your mobile device. If you like what you see, we hope you will consider buying. Get the App