The Medieval World, C. 400–1300

Pre-Columbian America

What are the major periods of Mesoamerican art?

Mesoamerican art (art of Mexico and Central America) is divided into three main categories:

  • The Pre-Classic Period: c. 1200 B.C.E.- 300 C.E.
  • Classic Period: c. 300–950
  • Post-Classic Period: c. 950–1521

The Post-Classic Period ended quite suddenly, when the major indigenous empires of the Americas fell to the Spanish Conquistadores led by Hernán Cortés.


This is a web preview of the "The Handy Art History Answer Book" app. Many features only work on your mobile device. If you like what you see, we hope you will consider buying. Get the App