The Solar System

Planetary Systems

What are the major zones of the solar system?

Scientists generally divide the solar system into five major zones: the inner (or terrestrial) planet zone, the asteroid belt, the outer (or gas giant) planet zone, the Kuiper Belt, and the Oort Cloud. There is no exact boundary for these zones, however, and their sizes are not well determined; there is also overlap, in the sense that types of objects usually found in one zone often appear in another zone.


This is a web preview of the "The Handy Astronomy Answer Book" app. Many features only work on your mobile device. If you like what you see, we hope you will consider buying. Get the App