Old Testament

Historical Books

So there were two kingdoms then?

Yes. The southern kingdom was Judah. It consisted of the tribes of Judah and Benjamin. The capital was Jerusalem. Rehoboam was the king. The northern kingdom was Israel. It consisted of the remaining ten tribes. The capital was Samaria. Jeroboam was king, as God commanded.

Kings of Judah

Kings of Israel

Rehoboam (922–915 B.C.E.)

Jeroboam (922–901 B.C.E.)

Abijah (915–913 B.C.E.)

Nadab (901–900 B.C.E.)

Asa (913–873 B.C.E.)

Baasha (900–877 B.C.E.)


Elah (877–876 B.C.E.)


Zimri (876 B.C.E.)

Jehoshaphat (873–849 B.C.E.)

Omri (876–869 B.C.E.)


Ahab (869—850 B.C.E.)

Jehoram (849–842 B.C.E.)

Ahaziah (850–849 B.C.E.)

Ahaziah (842 B.C.E.)

Jehoram (849–842 B.C.E.)

Athaliah (Queen 842–837 B.C.E.)

Jehu (842–815 B.C.E.)

Joash (837–800 B.C.E.)

Jehoahaz (815–801 B.C.E.)

Amaziah (800–783 B.C.E.)

Joash (801–786 B.C.E.)

Uzziah (783–742 B.C.E.)

Jeroboam II (786–746 B.C.E.)


Zechariah (746–745 B.C.E.)


Shallum (745 B.C.E.)


Menahem (745–738 B.C.E.)

Jotham (742–735 B.C.E.)

Pekakiah (738–737 B.C.E.)


Pekah (737–732 B.C.E.)

Ahaz (735–715 B.C.E.)

Hoshea (732–724 B.C.E.)


Fall of Samaria to the Assyrians (722 B.C.E.)

Hezekiah (715–687 B.C.E.)


Manasseh (687–642 B.C.E.)


Amon (642–640 B.C.E.)


Josiah (640–609 B.C.E.)


Jehoahaz (609 B.C.E.)


Jehoiakim (609–598 B.C.E.)


Jehoiachin (598–597 B.C.E.)


Zedekiah (597–587 B.C.E.)


Fall of Jerusalem to the Babylonians (587 B.C.E.)



This is a web preview of the "The Handy Bible Answer Book" app. Many features only work on your mobile device. If you like what you see, we hope you will consider buying. Get the App