Cellular Basics

Prokaryotic and Eukaryotic Cells

What are the different types of blood cells?

The three main types of blood cells, all produced within the bone marrow, include the red blood cells that carry oxygen throughout the body, the white blood cells that help protect the body from infection, and the platelets that help your blood to clot normally. (For more about blood and the human body, see the chapters “Physiology: Animals Inside” and “Biology and You.”)


This is a web preview of the "The Handy Biology Answer Book" app. Many features only work on your mobile device. If you like what you see, we hope you will consider buying. Get the App