Cellular Basics

Cell Division

What are the stages of mitosis?

Mitosis involves the replication of DNA and its separation into two new daughter cells. While only four phases of mitosis are often listed, the entire process is actually comprised of six phases:

After the Interphase stage (not shown here) in which the cell prepares for division, the stages of mitosis include A) Prophase, B) Metaphase, C) Anaphase, D) Telophase, and E) Cytokinesis.


This is a web preview of the "The Handy Biology Answer Book" app. Many features only work on your mobile device. If you like what you see, we hope you will consider buying. Get the App