Triassic Period


Triassic Period

In general, the informal way to define parts of the Triassic period is to use the terms early, middle, and late Triassic. More formally, they are capitalized (Early, Middle, and Late), or sometimes (Lower, Middle, and Upper) and include subdivisions within those groupings. The following lists a general interpretation of the Triassic epochs (although note that many researchers use slightly different notations; for example, many do not list the Rhaetian Age):

Epoch Age Millions of Years Ago (approx)
Early Olenekian 245–242
Induan 250–245
Middle Ladinian 234–227
Anisian 242–234
Late Rhaetian 210–205
Norian 221–210
  Carnian 227–221


This is a web preview of the "The Handy Dinosaur Answer Book" app. Many features only work on your mobile device. If you like what you see, we hope you will consider buying. Get the App