United States of America

Cities and Counties

Does Louisiana have counties

No. Louisiana is divided into 64 parishes rather than counties. These parishes are no different than counties, other than in name. The word parish comes from the parish system of the Catholic church, and thus shows the French and Catholic influence on Louisiana.


This is a web preview of the "The Handy Geography Answer Book" app. Many features only work on your mobile device. If you like what you see, we hope you will consider buying. Get the App