South America


How did Brazil become a Portuguese colony

Most of the present-day country of Brazil was east of the line drawn in the Treaty of Tordesillas, so it became Portuguese territory in 1506. Brazil’s official language is Portuguese, making it the only Portuguese-speaking country in South America.


This is a web preview of the "The Handy Geography Answer Book" app. Many features only work on your mobile device. If you like what you see, we hope you will consider buying. Get the App