Political Geography

Nato and the Cold War

How did the Soviet Bloc countries respond to the creation of NATO?

In 1955, seven Communist countries created the Warsaw Pact to protect against NATO aggression. The Warsaw Pact originally consisted of Albania, Bulgaria, Czechoslovakia, Hungary, Poland, Romania, and the Soviet Union. The Warsaw Pact disbanded in 1991 with the breakup of the U.S.S.R. and the changes in Eastern Europe.


This is a web preview of the "The Handy Geography Answer Book" app. Many features only work on your mobile device. If you like what you see, we hope you will consider buying. Get the App