United States of America


How did the United States obtain the Virgin Islands

The United States purchased the Virgin Islands, which includes three main islands (St. Croix, St. John, and St. Thomas) along with 50 smaller islands, from Denmark in 1917 to help defend the Caribbean Sea. Just under 100,000 people live on the islands, which are now a territory of the United States.


This is a web preview of the "The Handy Geography Answer Book" app. Many features only work on your mobile device. If you like what you see, we hope you will consider buying. Get the App