Political Geography

The World Today

How many countries does the United States recognize?

The State Department is the official U.S. government agency that recognizes independent countries. It maintains an updated list of the official independent States of the world. As of this writing, there are 194 states listed. Taiwan and Vatican City, though commonly considered countries, are not included on this list. Kosovo, which gained independence in February 2008, is the newest country to be recognized.


This is a web preview of the "The Handy Geography Answer Book" app. Many features only work on your mobile device. If you like what you see, we hope you will consider buying. Get the App