United States of America

The States

How many islands does Hawaii include?

There are a total of 122 islands in the Hawaiian chain. The southernmost island, Hawaii, is the largest (4,000 square miles [10,360 square kilometers]). The two westernmost islets are known as the Midway Islands and, while they are part of the United States, they are not part of the state of Hawaii.


This is a web preview of the "The Handy Geography Answer Book" app. Many features only work on your mobile device. If you like what you see, we hope you will consider buying. Get the App