The Philippines and Indonesia

How many islands make up Indonesia

Indonesia is composed of over 13,500 islands. Of these, only 6,000 are inhabited. Indonesia is the world’s largest archipelago and was formerly known as the Dutch East Indies. The area had been under the control of the Netherlands since around 1600, but declared its independence in 1945 (after being subjected to Japanese rule during much of World War II).


This is a web preview of the "The Handy Geography Answer Book" app. Many features only work on your mobile device. If you like what you see, we hope you will consider buying. Get the App