People, Countries, and Cities

How many provinces are there in South Africa

In 1994, several new provinces (states) were created. South Africa is now divided into nine provinces: Eastern Cape, Free State, Gauteng, KwaZulu-Natal, Limpopo, Mpumalanga, Northern Cape, North-West, and Western Cape. The nine provinces incorporate homelands of indigenous peoples.


This is a web preview of the "The Handy Geography Answer Book" app. Many features only work on your mobile device. If you like what you see, we hope you will consider buying. Get the App