South America

Physical Features and Resources

What are the four climatic regions of the Andes

The Andes are known for their four defined climatic zones, which are based on elevation. The lowest zone, tierra caliente (hot lands), is ascribed to the area from the plains to 2,500 feet (762 meters) and is where most of the population resides. The second zone is tierra templada (temperate land), which is from 2,500 to 6,000 feet (762 to 1,829 meters). The third zone is tierra fria (cold land), which is from 6,000 to 12,000 feet (1,829 to 3,658 meters). Above 12,000 feet (3,658 meters) is the fourth zone, tierra helada (frozen land).

Incan terraces on Isla Del Sol by Lake Titicaca in Bolivia.

This is a web preview of the "The Handy Geography Answer Book" app. Many features only work on your mobile device. If you like what you see, we hope you will consider buying. Get the App