Japan and the Korean Peninsula

What are the four main islands that make up Japan

The northernmost island, Hokkaido, is home to the city of Sapporo. The largest island, Honshu, is the Japanese core area that includes Tokyo and Osaka-Kyoto. The Japanese island of Honshu is the world’s seventh largest island in the world, as well as the second most populous island in the world with 103 million people; it is the “mainland” island of Japan. Honshu covers 86,246 square miles (223,656 square kilometers), which makes it larger than the island of Great Britain. In the south are the islands of Shikoku and Kyushu. Kyushu is the southernmost island and was the first island where foreign traders were allowed into Japan. It has a population of over 13 million. Besides the four main islands, Japan includes 2,000 smaller islands. Japan’s population is 128 million people and is declining at a rate of 0.02 percent per year.


This is a web preview of the "The Handy Geography Answer Book" app. Many features only work on your mobile device. If you like what you see, we hope you will consider buying. Get the App