Water and Ice

Oceans and Seas

What are the seven seas

The “seven seas” spoken of by mariners from long ago are oceans or parts of oceans. The Atlantic and Pacific Oceans are so large that they were each divided into two “seas.” The Antarctic, Indian, and Arctic were also considered seas, thus totaling seven. If a sailor had sailed upon all seven seas, he had sailed around the world. There are not just seven but dozens of seas in the world.


This is a web preview of the "The Handy Geography Answer Book" app. Many features only work on your mobile device. If you like what you see, we hope you will consider buying. Get the App