Oceania and Antarctica

New Zealand

What is ANZUS

In 1951, Australia, New Zealand, and the United States signed the Australia-New Zealand-United States (ANZUS) Treaty to protect each other militarily. In 1986, New Zealand banned nuclear weapons from its country and thereafter refused to allow U.S. nuclear-powered or nuclear-armed ships to dock in its harbors. New Zealand was summarily excluded from the Treaty.


This is a web preview of the "The Handy Geography Answer Book" app. Many features only work on your mobile device. If you like what you see, we hope you will consider buying. Get the App