Western Europe

People, Countries, and Cities

What is the Commonwealth

The Commonwealth, also known as the British Commonwealth, consists of the United Kingdom and the now-independent former countries of the British Empire. The Commonwealth is not a policy-making body but is solely a loose voluntary association between countries that were formerly under British control.


This is a web preview of the "The Handy Geography Answer Book" app. Many features only work on your mobile device. If you like what you see, we hope you will consider buying. Get the App