Russia and Eastern Europe

Eastern Europe

What two countries emerged from Czechoslovakia

Czechoslovakia was created at the end of World War I (1918) by the Allies as a new country containing the area where the Czechs and Slovaks live. In 1967 and 1968, Czechoslovakia attempted to move away from Communism, but the Soviet Union and Warsaw Pact countries invaded, squelching such aspirations. This “Prague Spring,” as it was known, was the first military action taken by the countries of the Warsaw Pact. In 1992, the two republics of Czechoslovakia agreed to divide into two independent countries—the Czech Republic and Slovakia. The dissolution of Czechoslovakia was a peaceful one.


This is a web preview of the "The Handy Geography Answer Book" app. Many features only work on your mobile device. If you like what you see, we hope you will consider buying. Get the App