What was apartheid

South Africa’s legalized form of racial discrimination was known as apartheid (separateness), and it classified individuals into one of four ethnic groups: white, black, Coloured (mixed race), and Asian. Apartheid laws limited where different groups could live and where they could work. Apartheid was repealed in 1990.


This is a web preview of the "The Handy Geography Answer Book" app. Many features only work on your mobile device. If you like what you see, we hope you will consider buying. Get the App