Russia and Eastern Europe

Russia and the Former Soviet States

What was the U.S.S.R.

The country called the Union of Soviet Socialist Republics (commonly known as the Soviet Union) was created in 1924, seven years after the Russian Revolution that overthrew the czarist monarchy. The Soviet Union consisted of Russia and its neighboring territories, such as Ukraine, Kazakhstan, and the Baltic States. By the end of 1991, communism had failed in the Soviet Union and many of its internal republics became independent states.


This is a web preview of the "The Handy Geography Answer Book" app. Many features only work on your mobile device. If you like what you see, we hope you will consider buying. Get the App