Water and Ice

Oceans and Seas

Where are the four colored seas: Black, Yellow, Red, and White?

The four colored seas are not geographically associated with one another. The Black Sea is located near the Balkan Peninsula and is bordered by Turkey, Russia, and Ukraine (it is also the home of the port city of Odessa). The Red Sea is located to the south of the Black Sea, between the Arabian Peninsula (Saudi Arabia), and Africa. The Red Sea has been a major trade route for hundreds of years and has been especially useful since the completion of the Suez Canal. The White Sea is in northern Europe. It is part of the Arctic Ocean and is a Russian sea (it lies to the east of Finland). The Yellow Sea is far to the east, between China and the Korean Peninsula.


This is a web preview of the "The Handy Geography Answer Book" app. Many features only work on your mobile device. If you like what you see, we hope you will consider buying. Get the App