Middle East

The Land and History

Where is the Middle East today

It is generally agreed that the Middle East includes Egypt, Israel, Syria, Lebanon, Jordan, the countries of the Arabian Peninsula (Saudi Arabia, Yemen, Oman, United Arab Emirates, Bahrain, and Qatar), Iraq, Kuwait, Turkey, and Iran. Most regional specialists also include the countries of northern Africa (Morocco, Algeria, Tunisia, and Libya). The new countries of Azerbaijan, Georgia, and Armenia (former Soviet republics) are also often included in the region.


This is a web preview of the "The Handy Geography Answer Book" app. Many features only work on your mobile device. If you like what you see, we hope you will consider buying. Get the App