The Indian Subcontinent

Where was East Pakistan

When the British left South Asia, they divided the region into India and Pakistan. Muslim regions in Pakistan were located to the east and west of Hindu India. These two separate territories became East and West Pakistan, and were separated by approximately 1,000 miles (1,600 kilometers). Having been extremely geographically separated from West Pakistan for over three decades, East Pakistan declared independence and became Bangladesh in 1971.


This is a web preview of the "The Handy Geography Answer Book" app. Many features only work on your mobile device. If you like what you see, we hope you will consider buying. Get the App