People, Countries, and Cities

Which African country has Spanish as an official language?

Equatorial Guinea, which is composed of five islands in the Gulf of Guinea and a tiny sliver of land between Cameroon and Gabon, was a colony of Spain until 1968 and has kept Spanish as its official language. The capital city of Malabo is located on the island of Bioko, previously named Fernando Poo.


This is a web preview of the "The Handy Geography Answer Book" app. Many features only work on your mobile device. If you like what you see, we hope you will consider buying. Get the App