Middle East

People, Countries, and Cities

Which country is composed of seven sheikdoms

The country of United Arab Emirates, located on the Arabian Peninsula, is composed of seven sheikdoms (also known as emirates). The seven emirates were defended by the United Kingdom in the nineteenth century, but merged to become an independent country in 1971. The seven emirates (Abu Dhabi, Ajman, Al Fujayrah, Ash Sharqah, Dubayy, Ra’s a’ Khaymah, and Umm al Qaywayn) are presently quite autonomous.


This is a web preview of the "The Handy Geography Answer Book" app. Many features only work on your mobile device. If you like what you see, we hope you will consider buying. Get the App