Political Geography


Who controls the world’s oil supply

The Organization of Petroleum Exporting Countries (OPEC) coordinates most of the world’s oil production. The members of OPEC meet to coordinate oil policies and prices. Thirteen countries comprise OPEC: Algeria, Angola, Ecuador, Indonesia, Iran, Iraq, Kuwait, Libya, Nigeria, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, United Arab Emirates, and Venezuela. Though Russia, the United States, and Mexico are also leading petroleum producers, the three countries are not members of OPEC.


This is a web preview of the "The Handy Geography Answer Book" app. Many features only work on your mobile device. If you like what you see, we hope you will consider buying. Get the App