Dead Sea Scrolls

What were the Ten Plagues?

The Ten Plagues were delivered by God to the people of Egypt as a way of convincing the pharaoh that he was to let the Israelites go—so Moses could lead them out of bondage and into the Promised Land. The plagues were, in the order described in Exodus: 1) water turned into blood, 2) frogs, 3) gnats, 4) flies, 5) pestilence, 6) boils, 7) hail, 8) locusts, 9) darkness, and 10) death of the firstborn. It was not until the Tenth Plague had been delivered that the pharaoh agreed to let the Israelites leave.


This is a web preview of the "The Handy History Answer Book" app. Many features only work on your mobile device. If you like what you see, we hope you will consider buying. Get the App