Government and Politics

United Nations

Who are the members of the United Nations Security Council?

According to the UN charter, the Security Council has 15 members: 5 permanent and 10 that are elected by the General Assembly for two-year terms. The permanent members are China, France, the Russian Federation, the United Kingdom, and the United States. The 10 temporary slots are elected annually, 5 nations at a time, so that on January 1, 2004, the following nations began two-year memberships: Algeria, Benin, Brazil, the Philippines, and Romania. On January 1, 2005, Argentina, Denmark, Greece, Japan, and the United Republic of Tanzania began two-year memberships. In 2005 Japan, Germany, India, and Brazil made bids for permanent seats on the council.


This is a web preview of the "The Handy History Answer Book" app. Many features only work on your mobile device. If you like what you see, we hope you will consider buying. Get the App