Constitutional Law

Legislative Branch

What are some other powers of Congress mentioned in the U.S. Constitution?

Article I, Section 8 lists numerous powers of Congress. Among these powers, the Congress can:

  • Set and collect taxes.

  • Regulate commerce between the various states and with foreign nations, to coin money.

  • Declare war.

  • Provide and maintain a navy.

  • Raise and support armies.

  • Create post offices.

  • Create courts lower than the U.S. Supreme Court.

  • Establish uniform rules on naturalization and bankruptcy.


This is a web preview of the "The Handy Law Answer Book" app. Many features only work on your mobile device. If you like what you see, we hope you will consider buying. Get the App