Constitutional Law

Legislative Branch

What are the categories of Congress’ powers in regulating interstate commerce?

There are four major sources of congressional power to regulate interstate commerce under the Commerce Clause:

  1. Regulate the channels of commerce.

  2. Regulate the instrumentalities of commerce.

  3. Regulate articles moving in commerce.

  4. Regulate those activities that substantially affect interstate commerce.


This is a web preview of the "The Handy Law Answer Book" app. Many features only work on your mobile device. If you like what you see, we hope you will consider buying. Get the App