Constitutional Law

The Executive Branch

What are the powers of the president?

The president, as the “Commander in Chief,” can grant pardons, make treaties, appoint ministers and consuls, justices of the Supreme Court, and “all other Officers of the United States.” The president also can fill vacancies that occur in the Senate by granting commissions. The president has the power to carry and enforce the laws made by Congress, has the power to veto or reject laws passed by Congress, and can issue executive orders that have the force of law.


This is a web preview of the "The Handy Law Answer Book" app. Many features only work on your mobile device. If you like what you see, we hope you will consider buying. Get the App